Week 2: Mobile Photo Apps

Mobile photo apps are something I have always found to be “neat” when other people use them. I have dabbled some in apps like Instagram, but never on a regular basis or with any other real intent than to see what the apps are all about. After trying several for this class, I have found them to be pretty cool. I really enjoyed Photo Splash and Insta Cap, among others. My biggest struggle is finding the time to put that much effort into one photo. I am usually snapping pictures quickly of my son and then off to other adventures, which leaves me many, many pictures hidden in files on my computer.

These files might be better saved to a mobile image hosting site. Prior to this course, I had never really checked into that too much. I think it would be a valuable resource for me, especially since I hate the thought of losing my wonderful pictures of Benjamin.  My biggest dread is the thought of moving all of those images from their random homes. It is kind of like  trying to get a hoarder to organize their home; I am going to need some sort of intervention (or a free weekend).

photo (1)

Mobile presentations are things that I have had some experience with. I would say Glogster is the closest I have come. While using Glogster in my class, I explored the mobile app. I really enjoyed how much easier it was for students to build a glog using a touch interface. Still, many of the apps in this course were newer to me. i had heard of Prezi and Doceri, but never really had the need or equipment to make using them worthwhile. Now that the possibility of using things such as this is becoming a reality, I am glad to begin exploring them. I liked that Nearpod allowed students to take a quiz on the material, but I didn’t find it to be the most user friendly. Educreations, on the other hand, seemed more user friendly, at least for a 7th grade student.

 

I think that there is a place for all of these apps in the educational setting, provided the hardware is accessible to all students in some form or another. I get a little leery allowing students to take photos at school and upload them directly to the internet. It may be on the overprotective side, but we have had many bullying instances involving unflattering pictures of students and teachers being posted without their consent. Still, it would be beneficial to the students and the school to teach students proper use and give them a positive outlet for their creative mobile photo; be it in art class or a presentation. Even through the use of image hosting sites, students could upload  at home and access at school for presentations. It would be great for me to be able to access pictures for presentations anywhere, as well. The image hosting sites would allow for less storage on school devices and more access points, which would be a good thing. Mobile presentations would really make one-to-one scenarios more interactive. I often find students or myself trying to explain what we are doing on our computers to one another. With presentation apps, we could put the image right on the board and lead each other through the steps. Really, all of these apps are beneficial in the educational setting because they cause students to explore and build their own knowledge through discovery, rather than just through rote knowledge.

 

Leave a Reply

