Week 3: Mobile Devices and Productivity

My prior experience with mobile productivity was more limited to personal productivity, rather than productivity in the educational setting. For example, I use several different fitness apps (MapMyRide, Nike+, MyFitnessPal, etc.) to track exercise and stay fit. I also use online banking tools via my mobile devices to pay bills and manage finances. Another major mobile productivity app I use is my calendar. I am synced with my Google calendar, as well as my husband’s calendar, so that we can stay current on plans; this has been a lifesaver! I also have a GrocerySmart app, so that my husband and I can sync a grocery list as we think of things we need. Then when it comes time to buy groceries, whichever person goes to the store has the list. So, I use personal productivity tools often.

This module will increase my use of productivity tools in the educational setting. I really foresee myself using iAnnotate to proofread students’ papers. This has been such and needed app. Many teachers I work with print all of their papers still, leaving us all hoping for a better way; I think iAnnotate could be the solution. In fact, I have already passed it on to some of my colleagues. The twintext app will also come in handy for editing and research, for students and me.  I also think I am moving closer to transferring all of my files to a new home on Google Drive.

I think that many of these productivity tools have a place in the educational setting. The LogMeIn app would allow me to remotely access my desktop from anywhere in my room!  I think from the teaching standpoint I will use these apps frequently.A big problem/setback is the reality of the digital divide. Most schools are leaning towards BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) rather than a program that would provide each student an iPad.  Coming from a lower income district, the BYOD initiative will just further separate students. It is also making it tough on teachers to attempt to use any app or program, when not all students have access to it. It really is an unfortunate setback, with so many great educational tools right at our fingertips.  The integration of these apps will be much easier on a college campus, where students can be required to purchase a device or app or maybe even in a computer classroom with a set of equally equipped iPads. As with all things in education, where there is a will there is a way. No one thought we would be teaching with SMARTBoards either.  Hopefully, in the near future we will be able to equip students enough to provide them access to these tools.

One thought on “Week 3: Mobile Devices and Productivity

  1. What a great post! I’m enjoying reading your posts, I don’t usually comment but I do read. I’m commenting on this post because I’m happy to read that you see the possibility for education productivity. I really like LogMeIn and Mobile Mouse for presenting during class. I hope that you do become more productive in the classroom because of some things from this class… maybe “productive” is not the right word, “efficient” is probably a better word from what I’m hoping.

    I appreciate your comments about BYOD vs. Schools Providing Devices. I don’t know if the Digital Divide will ever disappear… it’s been there since technology entered the classroom, whether it’s computers, Internet, or now mobile.

    John

Leave a Reply

